College of Arts & Sciences

Academic Calendar 2018–2019

Advent Semester

  1. Wed Aug 15 2018

    First-Year Program (Finding Your Place) Students Arrive

  2. Sat Aug 25 2018

    Orientation for New Students

  3. Sun Aug 26 2018

    Orientation for New Students

  4. Mon Aug 27 2018

    Orientation for New Students

  5. Tue Aug 28 2018

    Orientation for New Students

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  6. Wed Aug 29 2018

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  7. Wed Sep 05 2018

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  8. Fri Sep 07 2018

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Easter Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  9. Tue Sep 11 2018

    Last Day to Add a Course

  10. Wed Sep 12 2018

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  11. Thu Sep 13 2018

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Easter Semester

  12. Fri Sep 21 2018

    Family Weekend

    Foundation Day Convocation

  13. Sat Sep 22 2018

    Family Weekend

  14. Sun Sep 23 2018

    Family Weekend

  15. Tue Sep 25 2018

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  16. Wed Sep 26 2018

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  17. Fri Oct 12 2018

    Founders' Day Convocation

  18. Tue Oct 16 2018

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Semester

    Calendar Adjustment Day

    Follow a Thursday class meeting schedule

  19. Wed Oct 17 2018

    Calendar Adjustment Day

    Follow a Friday class meeting schedule

  20. Thu Oct 18 2018

    Fall Break

  21. Fri Oct 19 2018

    Fall Break

  22. Sat Oct 20 2018

    Fall Break

  23. Sun Oct 21 2018

    Fall Break

  24. Mon Oct 22 2018

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  25. Wed Oct 24 2018

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  26. Fri Oct 26 2018

    Homecoming

  27. Sat Oct 27 2018

    Homecoming

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  28. Sun Oct 28 2018

    Homecoming

  29. Thu Nov 01 2018

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Easter Semester

  30. Mon Nov 05 2018

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

    Last Day to Declare Pass/Fail Grading Option for Graduating Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Easter Semester

  31. Tue Nov 06 2018

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  32. Sun Nov 11 2018

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  33. Mon Nov 12 2018

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  34. Sun Nov 18 2018

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  35. Mon Nov 19 2018

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  36. Wed Nov 21 2018

    Thanksgiving Break

  37. Thu Nov 22 2018

    Thanksgiving Break

  38. Fri Nov 23 2018

    Thanksgiving Break

  39. Sat Nov 24 2018

    Thanksgiving Break

  40. Sun Nov 25 2018

    Thanksgiving Break

  41. Mon Nov 26 2018

    Thanksgiving Break

  42. Tue Nov 27 2018

    Classes Resume

  43. Sun Dec 02 2018

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  44. Sat Dec 08 2018

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  45. Sun Dec 09 2018

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  46. Wed Dec 12 2018

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  47. Thu Dec 13 2018

    Reading Day

  48. Fri Dec 14 2018

    Final Examinations

  49. Sat Dec 15 2018

    Final Examinations

  50. Sun Dec 16 2018

    Final Examinations

  51. Mon Dec 17 2018

    Final Examinations

  52. Tue Dec 18 2018

    Final Examinations

  53. Wed Dec 19 2018

    Final Examinations

  54. Wed Dec 26 2018

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Advent Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

  55. Fri Dec 28 2018

    Final Grades for the Advent Semester Available to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Easter Semester

  1. Mon Jan 14 2019

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  2. Tue Jan 15 2019

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  3. Fri Jan 18 2019

    Winter Convocation

  4. Tue Jan 22 2019

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  5. Thu Jan 24 2019

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Advent Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  6. Fri Jan 25 2019

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Begins

  7. Mon Jan 28 2019

    Last Day to Add a Course

  8. Tue Jan 29 2019

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  9. Fri Feb 01 2019

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Advent Semester

  10. Mon Feb 11 2019

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  11. Tue Feb 12 2019

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  12. Fri Feb 22 2019

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Ends

  13. Mon Feb 25 2019

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Begins

  14. Mon Mar 04 2019

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Enrolled Seniors Graduating this Semester

  15. Tue Mar 12 2019

    Calendar Adjustment Day

    Follow a Thursday class meeting schedule

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  16. Wed Mar 13 2019

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Ends

    Calendar Adjustment Day

    Follow a Friday class meeting schedule

  17. Thu Mar 14 2019

    Spring Break

  18. Fri Mar 15 2019

    Spring Break

  19. Sat Mar 16 2019

    Spring Break

  20. Sun Mar 17 2019

    Spring Break

  21. Mon Mar 18 2019

    Spring Break

  22. Tue Mar 19 2019

    Spring Break

  23. Wed Mar 20 2019

    Spring Break

  24. Thu Mar 21 2019

    Spring Break

  25. Fri Mar 22 2019

    Spring Break

  26. Sat Mar 23 2019

    Spring Break

  27. Sun Mar 24 2019

    Spring Break

  28. Mon Mar 25 2019

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  29. Sat Mar 30 2019

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  30. Mon Apr 01 2019

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

    Last Day to Declare Pass/Fail Grading Option for Enrolled Seniors Graduating This Semester

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Advent Semester

  31. Tue Apr 02 2019

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  32. Sun Apr 14 2019

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  33. Mon Apr 15 2019

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  34. Sun Apr 21 2019

    Easter

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  35. Mon Apr 22 2019

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  36. Wed May 01 2019

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  37. Thu May 02 2019

    Reading Day

  38. Fri May 03 2019

    Final Examinations

  39. Sat May 04 2019

    Final Examinations

  40. Sun May 05 2019

    Final Examinations

  41. Mon May 06 2019

    Final Examinations

  42. Tue May 07 2019

    Final Examinations

  43. Wed May 08 2019

    Final Examinations

  44. Fri May 10 2019

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Graduating Seniors Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  45. Sat May 11 2019

    Baccalaureate

  46. Sun May 12 2019

    Commencement

Summer Term

  1. Fri May 17 2019

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Easter Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  2. Mon Jun 03 2019

    First Day of Classes in the College Summer School

    First Day of Classes in the School of Letters

  3. Wed Jun 05 2019

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments in the College Summer School

  4. Fri Jun 07 2019

    Reunion Weekend

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record in the College Summer School

  5. Sat Jun 08 2019

    Reunion Weekend

  6. Sun Jun 09 2019

    Reunion Weekend

  7. Mon Jun 10 2019

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins in the Summer School

  8. Fri Jun 21 2019

    Midpoint of Term in the College Summer School

  9. Mon Jun 24 2019

    Midterm Grades Available to Students in the College Summer School

  10. Wed Jun 26 2019

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course in the College Summer School with a Grade of W

  11. Thu Jun 27 2019

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins in the College Summer School

  12. Wed Jul 10 2019

    Last Day of Classes in the College Summer School

  13. Thu Jul 11 2019

    Last Day of Classes in the School of Letters

    Reading Day in the College Summer School

  14. Fri Jul 12 2019

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School

  15. Sat Jul 13 2019

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School