College of Arts & Sciences

Academic Calendar 2009–2010

Advent Semester

  1. Tue Aug 25 2009

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  2. Wed Aug 26 2009

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Easter Semester

  3. Thu Aug 27 2009

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  4. Thu Sep 03 2009

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  5. Wed Sep 09 2009

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  6. Fri Sep 11 2009

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Easter Semester

  7. Wed Sep 23 2009

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  8. Thu Sep 24 2009

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  9. Fri Sep 25 2009

    Family Weekend

  10. Sat Sep 26 2009

    Family Weekend

  11. Sun Sep 27 2009

    Family Weekend

  12. Fri Oct 09 2009

    Homecoming

  13. Sat Oct 10 2009

    Homecoming

  14. Sun Oct 11 2009

    Homecoming

  15. Tue Oct 13 2009

    Founders' Day Convocation

  16. Wed Oct 14 2009

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Semester

  17. Sat Oct 17 2009

    Fall Break

  18. Sun Oct 18 2009

    Fall Break

  19. Mon Oct 19 2009

    Fall Break

  20. Tue Oct 20 2009

    Fall Break

  21. Wed Oct 21 2009

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  22. Thu Oct 22 2009

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  23. Tue Oct 27 2009

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  24. Mon Nov 02 2009

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

  25. Tue Nov 03 2009

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  26. Mon Nov 09 2009

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  27. Tue Nov 10 2009

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  28. Wed Nov 11 2009

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  29. Thu Nov 12 2009

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  30. Wed Nov 25 2009

    Thanksgiving Break

  31. Thu Nov 26 2009

    Thanksgiving Break

  32. Fri Nov 27 2009

    Thanksgiving Break

  33. Sat Nov 28 2009

    Thanksgiving Break

  34. Sun Nov 29 2009

    Thanksgiving Break

  35. Mon Nov 30 2009

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  36. Sat Dec 05 2009

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  37. Sun Dec 06 2009

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  38. Tue Dec 08 2009

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

  39. Wed Dec 09 2009

    Last Day of Classes

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  40. Thu Dec 10 2009

    Reading Day

  41. Fri Dec 11 2009

    Final Examinations

  42. Sat Dec 12 2009

    Final Examinations

  43. Sun Dec 13 2009

    Final Examinations

  44. Mon Dec 14 2009

    Final Examinations

  45. Tue Dec 15 2009

    Final Examinations

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Advent Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

  46. Wed Dec 16 2009

    Final Examinations

  47. Thu Dec 17 2009

    Final Examinations

  48. Wed Dec 23 2009

    Final Grades for the Advent Semester Available to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Easter Semester

  1. Mon Jan 18 2010

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  2. Tue Jan 19 2010

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  3. Tue Jan 26 2010

    Winter Convocation

  4. Wed Jan 27 2010

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Advent Semester

  5. Thu Jan 28 2010

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  6. Fri Jan 29 2010

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Begins

  7. Fri Feb 05 2010

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Advent Semester

  8. Mon Feb 15 2010

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  9. Tue Feb 16 2010

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  10. Mon Feb 22 2010

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Begins

  11. Fri Feb 26 2010

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Ends

  12. Mon Mar 08 2010

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Enrolled Seniors Graduating this Semester

  13. Wed Mar 10 2010

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Ends

  14. Thu Mar 11 2010

    Spring Break

  15. Fri Mar 12 2010

    Spring Break

  16. Sat Mar 13 2010

    Spring Break

  17. Sun Mar 14 2010

    Spring Break

  18. Mon Mar 15 2010

    Spring Break

  19. Tue Mar 16 2010

    Spring Break

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  20. Wed Mar 17 2010

    Spring Break

  21. Thu Mar 18 2010

    Spring Break

  22. Fri Mar 19 2010

    Spring Break

  23. Sat Mar 20 2010

    Spring Break

  24. Sun Mar 21 2010

    Spring Break

  25. Mon Mar 22 2010

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  26. Sat Mar 27 2010

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  27. Sun Apr 04 2010

    Easter

  28. Mon Apr 05 2010

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

  29. Mon Apr 12 2010

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  30. Tue Apr 13 2010

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  31. Wed Apr 14 2010

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  32. Thu Apr 15 2010

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  33. Mon Apr 26 2010

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  34. Sat May 01 2010

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  35. Mon May 03 2010

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Advent Semester

  36. Wed May 05 2010

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  37. Thu May 06 2010

    Reading Day

    Final Examinations

  38. Fri May 07 2010

    Final Examinations

  39. Sat May 08 2010

    Final Examinations

  40. Sun May 09 2010

    Final Examinations

  41. Mon May 10 2010

    Final Examinations

  42. Tue May 11 2010

    Final Examinations

  43. Wed May 12 2010

    Final Examinations

  44. Fri May 14 2010

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Graduating Seniors Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  45. Sat May 15 2010

    Baccalaureate

  46. Sun May 16 2010

    Commencement

  47. Wed May 19 2010

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Easter Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Summer Term

  1. Mon Jun 14 2010

    First Day of Classes in the College Summer School

    First Day of Classes in the School of Letters

  2. Wed Jun 16 2010

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments in the College Summer School

  3. Fri Jun 18 2010

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record in the College Summer School

  4. Mon Jun 21 2010

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins in the Summer School

  5. Fri Jul 02 2010

    Midpoint of Term in the College Summer School

  6. Mon Jul 05 2010

    Midterm Grades Available to Students in the College Summer School

  7. Wed Jul 07 2010

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins in the College Summer School

  8. Wed Jul 21 2010

    Last Day of Classes in the College Summer School

  9. Thu Jul 22 2010

    Last Day of Classes in the School of Letters

    Reading Day in the College Summer School

  10. Fri Jul 23 2010

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School

  11. Sat Jul 24 2010

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School