College of Arts & Sciences

Academic Calendar 2011–2012

Advent Semester

  1. Mon Aug 22 2011

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  2. Tue Aug 23 2011

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  3. Thu Aug 25 2011

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  4. Wed Aug 31 2011

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments Online

  5. Thu Sep 01 2011

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  6. Fri Sep 02 2011

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Easter Semester

  7. Sat Sep 03 2011

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  8. Fri Sep 09 2011

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Easter Semester

  9. Wed Sep 21 2011

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  10. Thu Sep 22 2011

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  11. Fri Sep 30 2011

    Family Weekend

  12. Sat Oct 01 2011

    Family Weekend

  13. Sun Oct 02 2011

    Family Weekend

  14. Tue Oct 11 2011

    Founders' Day Convocation

  15. Wed Oct 12 2011

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Semester

  16. Sat Oct 15 2011

    Fall Break

  17. Sun Oct 16 2011

    Fall Break

  18. Mon Oct 17 2011

    Fall Break

  19. Tue Oct 18 2011

    Fall Break

  20. Wed Oct 19 2011

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  21. Thu Oct 20 2011

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  22. Mon Oct 24 2011

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  23. Fri Nov 04 2011

    Homecoming

  24. Sat Nov 05 2011

    Homecoming

  25. Sun Nov 06 2011

    Homecoming

  26. Mon Nov 07 2011

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

  27. Tue Nov 08 2011

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  28. Mon Nov 14 2011

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  29. Tue Nov 15 2011

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Easter Semester

  30. Wed Nov 16 2011

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  31. Thu Nov 17 2011

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  32. Wed Nov 23 2011

    Thanksgiving Break

  33. Thu Nov 24 2011

    Thanksgiving Break

  34. Fri Nov 25 2011

    Thanksgiving Break

  35. Sat Nov 26 2011

    Thanksgiving Break

  36. Sun Nov 27 2011

    Thanksgiving Break

  37. Mon Nov 28 2011

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  38. Sat Dec 03 2011

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  39. Sun Dec 04 2011

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  40. Wed Dec 07 2011

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  41. Thu Dec 08 2011

    Reading Day

  42. Fri Dec 09 2011

    Final Examinations

  43. Sat Dec 10 2011

    Final Examinations

  44. Sun Dec 11 2011

    Final Examinations

  45. Mon Dec 12 2011

    Final Examinations

  46. Tue Dec 13 2011

    Final Examinations

  47. Wed Dec 14 2011

    Final Examinations

  48. Thu Dec 15 2011

    Final Examinations

  49. Thu Dec 22 2011

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Advent Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

  50. Fri Dec 23 2011

    Final Grades for the Advent Semester Available to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Easter Semester

  1. Mon Jan 16 2012

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  2. Tue Jan 17 2012

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  3. Tue Jan 24 2012

    Winter Convocation

  4. Thu Jan 26 2012

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Advent Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  5. Fri Jan 27 2012

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Begins

  6. Mon Jan 30 2012

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments Online

  7. Tue Jan 31 2012

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  8. Fri Feb 03 2012

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Advent Semester

  9. Mon Feb 13 2012

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  10. Tue Feb 14 2012

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  11. Fri Feb 24 2012

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Ends

  12. Mon Feb 27 2012

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Begins

  13. Mon Mar 05 2012

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Enrolled Seniors Graduating this Semester

  14. Wed Mar 07 2012

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Ends

  15. Tue Mar 13 2012

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  16. Thu Mar 15 2012

    Spring Break

  17. Fri Mar 16 2012

    Spring Break

  18. Sat Mar 17 2012

    Spring Break

  19. Sun Mar 18 2012

    Spring Break

  20. Mon Mar 19 2012

    Spring Break

  21. Tue Mar 20 2012

    Spring Break

  22. Wed Mar 21 2012

    Spring Break

  23. Thu Mar 22 2012

    Spring Break

  24. Fri Mar 23 2012

    Spring Break

  25. Sat Mar 24 2012

    Spring Break

  26. Sun Mar 25 2012

    Spring Break

  27. Mon Mar 26 2012

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  28. Sat Mar 31 2012

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  29. Mon Apr 02 2012

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

  30. Tue Apr 03 2012

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  31. Sun Apr 08 2012

    Easter

  32. Mon Apr 09 2012

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  33. Tue Apr 10 2012

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  34. Wed Apr 11 2012

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  35. Thu Apr 12 2012

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  36. Mon Apr 23 2012

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  37. Tue May 01 2012

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Advent Semester

  38. Wed May 02 2012

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  39. Thu May 03 2012

    Reading Day

    Final Examinations

  40. Fri May 04 2012

    Final Examinations

  41. Sat May 05 2012

    Final Examinations

  42. Sun May 06 2012

    Final Examinations

  43. Mon May 07 2012

    Final Examinations

  44. Tue May 08 2012

    Final Examinations

  45. Wed May 09 2012

    Final Examinations

  46. Fri May 11 2012

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Graduating Seniors Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  47. Sat May 12 2012

    Baccalaureate

  48. Sun May 13 2012

    Commencement

  49. Wed May 16 2012

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Easter Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

  50. Fri May 18 2012

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

    Final Grades for the Advent Semester Available to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Summer Term

  1. Mon Jun 11 2012

    First Day of Classes in the College Summer School

    First Day of Classes in the School of Letters

  2. Wed Jun 13 2012

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments in the College Summer School

  3. Fri Jun 15 2012

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record in the College Summer School

  4. Mon Jun 18 2012

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins in the Summer School

  5. Fri Jun 29 2012

    Midpoint of Term in the College Summer School

  6. Mon Jul 02 2012

    Midterm Grades Available to Students in the College Summer School

  7. Tue Jul 03 2012

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course in the College Summer School with a Grade of W

  8. Thu Jul 05 2012

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins in the College Summer School

  9. Wed Jul 18 2012

    Last Day of Classes in the College Summer School

  10. Thu Jul 19 2012

    Last Day of Classes in the School of Letters

    Reading Day in the College Summer School

  11. Fri Jul 20 2012

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School

  12. Sat Jul 21 2012

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School