College of Arts & Sciences

Academic Calendar 2013–2014

Advent Semester

  1. Sun Aug 11 2013

    First-Year Program (Finding Your Place) Students Arrive

  2. Sat Aug 24 2013

    Orientation for New Students

  3. Sun Aug 25 2013

    Orientation for New Students

  4. Mon Aug 26 2013

    Orientation for New Students

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  5. Tue Aug 27 2013

    Orientation for New Students

  6. Wed Aug 28 2013

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  7. Wed Sep 04 2013

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  8. Fri Sep 06 2013

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Easter Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  9. Tue Sep 10 2013

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments Online

  10. Wed Sep 11 2013

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  11. Thu Sep 12 2013

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Easter Semester

  12. Tue Sep 24 2013

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  13. Wed Sep 25 2013

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  14. Fri Oct 11 2013

    Founders' Day Convocation

    Family Weekend

  15. Sat Oct 12 2013

    Family Weekend

  16. Sun Oct 13 2013

    Family Weekend

  17. Tue Oct 15 2013

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Semester

  18. Sat Oct 19 2013

    Fall Break

  19. Sun Oct 20 2013

    Fall Break

  20. Mon Oct 21 2013

    Fall Break

  21. Tue Oct 22 2013

    Fall Break

  22. Wed Oct 23 2013

    Classes Resume

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  23. Fri Oct 25 2013

    Homecoming

  24. Sat Oct 26 2013

    Homecoming

  25. Sun Oct 27 2013

    Homecoming

  26. Mon Oct 28 2013

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  27. Mon Nov 04 2013

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

  28. Tue Nov 05 2013

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  29. Mon Nov 11 2013

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  30. Tue Nov 12 2013

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  31. Wed Nov 13 2013

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  32. Thu Nov 14 2013

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  33. Fri Nov 15 2013

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Easter Semester

  34. Wed Nov 27 2013

    Thanksgiving Break

  35. Thu Nov 28 2013

    Thanksgiving Break

  36. Fri Nov 29 2013

    Thanksgiving Break

  37. Sat Nov 30 2013

    Thanksgiving Break

  38. Sun Dec 01 2013

    Thanksgiving Break

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  39. Mon Dec 02 2013

    Classes Resume

  40. Sat Dec 07 2013

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  41. Sun Dec 08 2013

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  42. Tue Dec 10 2013

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  43. Wed Dec 11 2013

    Reading Day

  44. Thu Dec 12 2013

    Final Examinations

  45. Fri Dec 13 2013

    Final Examinations

  46. Sat Dec 14 2013

    Final Examinations

  47. Sun Dec 15 2013

    Final Examinations

  48. Mon Dec 16 2013

    Final Examinations

  49. Tue Dec 17 2013

    Final Examinations

  50. Tue Dec 24 2013

    Final Grades for the Advent Semester Available to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Easter Semester

  1. Mon Jan 13 2014

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  2. Tue Jan 14 2014

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  3. Fri Jan 17 2014

    Winter Convocation

  4. Tue Jan 21 2014

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  5. Thu Jan 23 2014

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Advent Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  6. Fri Jan 24 2014

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Begins

  7. Mon Jan 27 2014

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments Online

  8. Tue Jan 28 2014

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  9. Fri Jan 31 2014

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Advent Semester

  10. Mon Feb 10 2014

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  11. Tue Feb 11 2014

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  12. Fri Feb 21 2014

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Ends

  13. Mon Feb 24 2014

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Begins

  14. Mon Mar 03 2014

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Enrolled Seniors Graduating this Semester

  15. Tue Mar 11 2014

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  16. Wed Mar 12 2014

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Ends

  17. Thu Mar 13 2014

    Spring Break

  18. Fri Mar 14 2014

    Spring Break

  19. Sat Mar 15 2014

    Spring Break

  20. Sun Mar 16 2014

    Spring Break

  21. Mon Mar 17 2014

    Spring Break

  22. Tue Mar 18 2014

    Spring Break

  23. Wed Mar 19 2014

    Spring Break

  24. Thu Mar 20 2014

    Spring Break

  25. Fri Mar 21 2014

    Spring Break

  26. Sat Mar 22 2014

    Spring Break

  27. Sun Mar 23 2014

    Spring Break

  28. Mon Mar 24 2014

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  29. Sat Mar 29 2014

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  30. Mon Apr 07 2014

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

  31. Tue Apr 08 2014

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  32. Mon Apr 14 2014

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  33. Tue Apr 15 2014

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  34. Wed Apr 16 2014

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  35. Thu Apr 17 2014

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  36. Sun Apr 20 2014

    Easter

  37. Mon Apr 21 2014

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  38. Wed Apr 30 2014

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  39. Thu May 01 2014

    Reading Day

    Final Examinations

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Advent Semester

  40. Fri May 02 2014

    Final Examinations

  41. Sat May 03 2014

    Final Examinations

  42. Sun May 04 2014

    Final Examinations

  43. Mon May 05 2014

    Final Examinations

  44. Tue May 06 2014

    Final Examinations

  45. Wed May 07 2014

    Final Examinations

  46. Fri May 09 2014

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Graduating Seniors Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  47. Sat May 10 2014

    Baccalaureate

  48. Sun May 11 2014

    Commencement

  49. Wed May 14 2014

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Easter Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

  50. Fri May 16 2014

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Summer Term

  1. Mon Jun 09 2014

    First Day of Classes in the College Summer School

    First Day of Classes in the School of Letters

  2. Wed Jun 11 2014

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments in the College Summer School

  3. Fri Jun 13 2014

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record in the College Summer School

  4. Mon Jun 16 2014

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins in the Summer School

  5. Fri Jun 27 2014

    Midpoint of Term in the College Summer School

  6. Mon Jun 30 2014

    Midterm Grades Available to Students in the College Summer School

  7. Tue Jul 01 2014

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course in the College Summer School with a Grade of W

  8. Wed Jul 02 2014

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins in the College Summer School

  9. Wed Jul 16 2014

    Last Day of Classes in the College Summer School

  10. Thu Jul 17 2014

    Last Day of Classes in the School of Letters

    Reading Day in the College Summer School

  11. Fri Jul 18 2014

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School

  12. Sat Jul 19 2014

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School