College of Arts & Sciences

Academic Calendar 2014–2015

Advent Semester

  1. Wed Aug 13 2014

    First-Year Program (Finding Your Place) Students Arrive

  2. Sat Aug 23 2014

    Orientation for New Students

  3. Sun Aug 24 2014

    Orientation for New Students

  4. Mon Aug 25 2014

    Orientation for New Students

  5. Tue Aug 26 2014

    Orientation for New Students

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  6. Wed Aug 27 2014

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  7. Wed Sep 03 2014

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  8. Fri Sep 05 2014

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Easter Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  9. Tue Sep 09 2014

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments Online

  10. Wed Sep 10 2014

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  11. Thu Sep 11 2014

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Easter Semester

  12. Tue Sep 23 2014

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  13. Wed Sep 24 2014

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  14. Sat Oct 04 2014

    Fall Break

  15. Sun Oct 05 2014

    Fall Break

  16. Mon Oct 06 2014

    Fall Break

  17. Tue Oct 07 2014

    Fall Break

  18. Wed Oct 08 2014

    Classes Resume

    Follow a Monday class meeting schedule

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  19. Mon Oct 13 2014

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  20. Tue Oct 14 2014

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Semester

  21. Fri Oct 17 2014

    Founders' Day Convocation

    Family Weekend

  22. Sat Oct 18 2014

    Family Weekend

  23. Sun Oct 19 2014

    Family Weekend

  24. Wed Oct 22 2014

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  25. Mon Nov 03 2014

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

  26. Tue Nov 04 2014

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  27. Fri Nov 07 2014

    Homecoming

  28. Sat Nov 08 2014

    Homecoming

  29. Sun Nov 09 2014

    Homecoming

  30. Mon Nov 10 2014

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  31. Tue Nov 11 2014

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  32. Wed Nov 12 2014

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  33. Thu Nov 13 2014

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  34. Sat Nov 15 2014

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Easter Semester

  35. Wed Nov 26 2014

    Thanksgiving Break

  36. Thu Nov 27 2014

    Thanksgiving Break

  37. Fri Nov 28 2014

    Thanksgiving Break

  38. Sat Nov 29 2014

    Thanksgiving Break

  39. Sun Nov 30 2014

    Thanksgiving Break

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  40. Mon Dec 01 2014

    Thanksgiving Break

  41. Tue Dec 02 2014

    Classes Resume

  42. Sat Dec 06 2014

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  43. Sun Dec 07 2014

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  44. Wed Dec 10 2014

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  45. Thu Dec 11 2014

    Reading Day

  46. Fri Dec 12 2014

    Final Examinations

  47. Sat Dec 13 2014

    Final Examinations

  48. Sun Dec 14 2014

    Final Examinations

  49. Mon Dec 15 2014

    Final Examinations

  50. Tue Dec 16 2014

    Final Examinations

  51. Wed Dec 17 2014

    Final Examinations

  52. Tue Dec 23 2014

    Final Grades for the Advent Semester Available to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Easter Semester

  1. Mon Jan 12 2015

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  2. Tue Jan 13 2015

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  3. Fri Jan 16 2015

    Winter Convocation

  4. Tue Jan 20 2015

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  5. Thu Jan 22 2015

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Advent Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  6. Fri Jan 23 2015

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Begins

  7. Mon Jan 26 2015

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments Online

  8. Tue Jan 27 2015

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  9. Fri Jan 30 2015

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Advent Semester

  10. Mon Feb 09 2015

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  11. Tue Feb 10 2015

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  12. Fri Feb 20 2015

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Ends

  13. Mon Feb 23 2015

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Begins

  14. Mon Mar 02 2015

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Enrolled Seniors Graduating this Semester

  15. Tue Mar 10 2015

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  16. Wed Mar 11 2015

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Ends

  17. Thu Mar 12 2015

    Spring Break

  18. Fri Mar 13 2015

    Spring Break

  19. Sat Mar 14 2015

    Spring Break

  20. Sun Mar 15 2015

    Spring Break

  21. Mon Mar 16 2015

    Spring Break

  22. Tue Mar 17 2015

    Spring Break

  23. Wed Mar 18 2015

    Spring Break

  24. Thu Mar 19 2015

    Spring Break

  25. Fri Mar 20 2015

    Spring Break

  26. Sat Mar 21 2015

    Spring Break

  27. Sun Mar 22 2015

    Spring Break

  28. Mon Mar 23 2015

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  29. Sat Mar 28 2015

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  30. Sun Apr 05 2015

    Easter

  31. Mon Apr 06 2015

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

  32. Tue Apr 07 2015

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  33. Sun Apr 19 2015

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  34. Mon Apr 20 2015

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  35. Mon Apr 27 2015

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  36. Tue Apr 28 2015

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  37. Wed Apr 29 2015

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  38. Thu Apr 30 2015

    Reading Day

    Final Examinations

  39. Fri May 01 2015

    Final Examinations

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Advent Semester

  40. Sat May 02 2015

    Final Examinations

  41. Sun May 03 2015

    Final Examinations

  42. Mon May 04 2015

    Final Examinations

  43. Tue May 05 2015

    Final Examinations

  44. Wed May 06 2015

    Final Examinations

  45. Fri May 08 2015

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Graduating Seniors Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  46. Sat May 09 2015

    Baccalaureate

  47. Sun May 10 2015

    Commencement

  48. Wed May 13 2015

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Easter Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

  49. Fri May 15 2015

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Summer Term

  1. Mon Jun 08 2015

    First Day of Classes in the College Summer School

    First Day of Classes in the School of Letters

  2. Fri Jun 26 2015

    Midpoint of Term in the College Summer School

  3. Wed Jul 15 2015

    Last Day of Classes in the College Summer School

  4. Thu Jul 16 2015

    Last Day of Classes in the School of Letters

    Reading Day in the College Summer School

  5. Fri Jul 17 2015

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School

  6. Sat Jul 18 2015

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School