College of Arts & Sciences

Academic Calendar 2015–2016

Advent Semester

  1. Wed Aug 12 2015

    First-Year Program (Finding Your Place) Students Arrive

  2. Sat Aug 22 2015

    Orientation for New Students

  3. Sun Aug 23 2015

    Orientation for New Students

  4. Mon Aug 24 2015

    Orientation for New Students

  5. Tue Aug 25 2015

    Orientation for New Students

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  6. Wed Aug 26 2015

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  7. Wed Sep 02 2015

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  8. Fri Sep 04 2015

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Easter Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  9. Tue Sep 08 2015

    Last Day to Add a Course

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments Online

  10. Wed Sep 09 2015

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  11. Thu Sep 10 2015

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Easter Semester

  12. Tue Sep 22 2015

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  13. Wed Sep 23 2015

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  14. Sat Oct 03 2015

    Fall Break

  15. Sun Oct 04 2015

    Fall Break

  16. Mon Oct 05 2015

    Fall Break

  17. Tue Oct 06 2015

    Fall Break

  18. Wed Oct 07 2015

    Classes Resume

    Follow a Monday class meeting schedule

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  19. Mon Oct 12 2015

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  20. Tue Oct 13 2015

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Semester

  21. Fri Oct 16 2015

    Founders' Day Convocation

    Family Weekend

  22. Sat Oct 17 2015

    Family Weekend

  23. Sun Oct 18 2015

    Family Weekend

  24. Wed Oct 21 2015

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  25. Mon Nov 02 2015

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Easter Semester

  26. Tue Nov 03 2015

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  27. Fri Nov 13 2015

    Homecoming

  28. Sat Nov 14 2015

    Homecoming

  29. Sun Nov 15 2015

    Homecoming

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  30. Mon Nov 16 2015

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  31. Sun Nov 22 2015

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  32. Mon Nov 23 2015

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  33. Wed Nov 25 2015

    Thanksgiving Break

  34. Thu Nov 26 2015

    Thanksgiving Break

  35. Fri Nov 27 2015

    Thanksgiving Break

  36. Sat Nov 28 2015

    Thanksgiving Break

  37. Sun Nov 29 2015

    Thanksgiving Break

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  38. Mon Nov 30 2015

    Thanksgiving Break

  39. Tue Dec 01 2015

    Classes Resume

  40. Sat Dec 05 2015

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  41. Sun Dec 06 2015

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  42. Wed Dec 09 2015

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  43. Thu Dec 10 2015

    Reading Day

  44. Fri Dec 11 2015

    Final Examinations

  45. Sat Dec 12 2015

    Final Examinations

  46. Sun Dec 13 2015

    Final Examinations

  47. Mon Dec 14 2015

    Final Examinations

  48. Tue Dec 15 2015

    Final Examinations

  49. Wed Dec 16 2015

    Final Examinations

  50. Wed Dec 23 2015

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Advent Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

    Final Grades for the Advent Semester Available to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Easter Semester

  1. Mon Jan 11 2016

    Winter Convocation

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  2. Tue Jan 12 2016

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  3. Tue Jan 19 2016

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  4. Thu Jan 21 2016

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Advent Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  5. Fri Jan 22 2016

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Begins

  6. Mon Jan 25 2016

    Last Day to Add a Course

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments Online

  7. Tue Jan 26 2016

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  8. Fri Jan 29 2016

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Advent Semester

  9. Mon Feb 08 2016

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  10. Tue Feb 09 2016

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  11. Fri Feb 19 2016

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Ends

  12. Mon Feb 22 2016

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Begins

  13. Mon Feb 29 2016

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Enrolled Seniors Graduating this Semester

  14. Tue Mar 08 2016

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  15. Wed Mar 09 2016

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Ends

  16. Thu Mar 10 2016

    Spring Break

  17. Fri Mar 11 2016

    Spring Break

  18. Sat Mar 12 2016

    Spring Break

  19. Sun Mar 13 2016

    Spring Break

  20. Mon Mar 14 2016

    Spring Break

  21. Tue Mar 15 2016

    Spring Break

  22. Wed Mar 16 2016

    Spring Break

  23. Thu Mar 17 2016

    Spring Break

  24. Fri Mar 18 2016

    Spring Break

  25. Sat Mar 19 2016

    Spring Break

  26. Sun Mar 20 2016

    Spring Break

  27. Mon Mar 21 2016

    Classes Resume

  28. Sun Mar 27 2016

    Easter

  29. Mon Mar 28 2016

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  30. Fri Apr 01 2016

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Advent Semester

  31. Sat Apr 02 2016

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  32. Mon Apr 04 2016

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

  33. Tue Apr 05 2016

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  34. Sun Apr 17 2016

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  35. Mon Apr 18 2016

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  36. Sun Apr 24 2016

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  37. Mon Apr 25 2016

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  38. Wed Apr 27 2016

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  39. Thu Apr 28 2016

    Reading Day

    Final Examinations

  40. Fri Apr 29 2016

    Final Examinations

  41. Sat Apr 30 2016

    Final Examinations

  42. Sun May 01 2016

    Final Examinations

  43. Mon May 02 2016

    Final Examinations

  44. Tue May 03 2016

    Final Examinations

  45. Wed May 04 2016

    Final Examinations

  46. Fri May 06 2016

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Graduating Seniors Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  47. Sat May 07 2016

    Baccalaureate

  48. Sun May 08 2016

    Commencement

Summer Term

  1. Fri May 13 2016

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Easter Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  2. Mon Jun 06 2016

    First Day of Classes in the College Summer School

    First Day of Classes in the School of Letters

  3. Fri Jun 24 2016

    Midpoint of Term in the College Summer School

  4. Wed Jul 13 2016

    Last Day of Classes in the College Summer School

  5. Thu Jul 14 2016

    Reading Day in the College Summer School

  6. Fri Jul 15 2016

    Last Day of Classes in the School of Letters

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School

  7. Sat Jul 16 2016

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School