College of Arts & Sciences

Academic Calendar 2016–2017

Advent Semester

  1. Wed Aug 17 2016

    First-Year Program (Finding Your Place) Students Arrive

  2. Sat Aug 27 2016

    Orientation for New Students

  3. Sun Aug 28 2016

    Orientation for New Students

  4. Mon Aug 29 2016

    Orientation for New Students

  5. Tue Aug 30 2016

    Orientation for New Students

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  6. Wed Aug 31 2016

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  7. Wed Sep 07 2016

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  8. Fri Sep 09 2016

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Easter Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  9. Tue Sep 13 2016

    Last Day to Add a Course

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments Online

  10. Wed Sep 14 2016

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  11. Thu Sep 15 2016

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Easter Semester

  12. Tue Sep 27 2016

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  13. Wed Sep 28 2016

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  14. Fri Oct 07 2016

    Founders' Day Convocation

    Family Weekend

  15. Sat Oct 08 2016

    Family Weekend

  16. Sun Oct 09 2016

    Family Weekend

  17. Sat Oct 15 2016

    Fall Break

  18. Sun Oct 16 2016

    Fall Break

  19. Mon Oct 17 2016

    Fall Break

  20. Tue Oct 18 2016

    Fall Break

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Semester

  21. Wed Oct 19 2016

    Classes Resume

    Follow a Monday class meeting schedule

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  22. Mon Oct 24 2016

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  23. Wed Oct 26 2016

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  24. Tue Nov 01 2016

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Easter Semester

  25. Fri Nov 04 2016

    Homecoming

  26. Sat Nov 05 2016

    Homecoming

  27. Sun Nov 06 2016

    Homecoming

  28. Mon Nov 07 2016

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

    Last Day to Declare Pass/Fail Grading Option for Graduating Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Easter Semester

  29. Tue Nov 08 2016

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  30. Sun Nov 13 2016

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  31. Mon Nov 14 2016

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  32. Sun Nov 20 2016

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  33. Mon Nov 21 2016

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  34. Wed Nov 23 2016

    Thanksgiving Break

  35. Thu Nov 24 2016

    Thanksgiving Break

  36. Fri Nov 25 2016

    Thanksgiving Break

  37. Sat Nov 26 2016

    Thanksgiving Break

  38. Sun Nov 27 2016

    Thanksgiving Break

  39. Mon Nov 28 2016

    Thanksgiving Break

  40. Tue Nov 29 2016

    Classes Resume

  41. Sat Dec 03 2016

    Services of Lessons and Carols

  42. Sun Dec 04 2016

    Services of Lessons and Carols

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  43. Wed Dec 14 2016

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  44. Thu Dec 15 2016

    Reading Day

  45. Fri Dec 16 2016

    Final Examinations

  46. Sat Dec 17 2016

    Final Examinations

  47. Sun Dec 18 2016

    Final Examinations

  48. Mon Dec 19 2016

    Final Examinations

  49. Tue Dec 20 2016

    Final Examinations

  50. Wed Dec 21 2016

    Final Examinations

  51. Wed Dec 28 2016

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Advent Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

  52. Fri Dec 30 2016

    Final Grades for the Advent Semester Available to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Easter Semester

  1. Mon Jan 16 2017

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  2. Tue Jan 17 2017

    First Day of Classes

    Late Registration Fee of $100 Begins

    Assessed of continuing students registering for the semester for the first time

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  3. Fri Jan 20 2017

    Winter Convocation

  4. Tue Jan 24 2017

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  5. Thu Jan 26 2017

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Advent Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  6. Fri Jan 27 2017

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Begins

  7. Mon Jan 30 2017

    Last Day to Add a Course

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments Online

  8. Tue Jan 31 2017

    Schedule Adjustment Form Required to Drop or Withdraw from a Course

    In order to drop or withdraw from a course after the tenth class day of the semester, students must submit completed schedule adjustment forms–including signatures of both professor and advisor–to the Office of the University Registrar.

  9. Fri Feb 03 2017

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Advent Semester

  10. Mon Feb 13 2017

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  11. Tue Feb 14 2017

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  12. Fri Feb 24 2017

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Ends

  13. Mon Feb 27 2017

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Begins

  14. Mon Mar 06 2017

    Midpoint of Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Enrolled Seniors Graduating this Semester

  15. Tue Mar 14 2017

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  16. Wed Mar 15 2017

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Ends

  17. Thu Mar 16 2017

    Spring Break

  18. Fri Mar 17 2017

    Spring Break

  19. Sat Mar 18 2017

    Spring Break

  20. Sun Mar 19 2017

    Spring Break

  21. Mon Mar 20 2017

    Spring Break

  22. Tue Mar 21 2017

    Spring Break

  23. Wed Mar 22 2017

    Spring Break

  24. Thu Mar 23 2017

    Spring Break

  25. Fri Mar 24 2017

    Spring Break

  26. Sat Mar 25 2017

    Spring Break

  27. Sun Mar 26 2017

    Spring Break

  28. Mon Mar 27 2017

    Classes Resume

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  29. Sat Apr 01 2017

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Advent Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  30. Mon Apr 10 2017

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

    Last Day to Declare Pass/Fail Grading Option for Enrolled Seniors Graduating This Semester

  31. Tue Apr 11 2017

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  32. Sun Apr 16 2017

    Easter

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  33. Mon Apr 17 2017

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  34. Sun Apr 23 2017

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  35. Mon Apr 24 2017

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  36. Wed May 03 2017

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  37. Thu May 04 2017

    Reading Day

  38. Fri May 05 2017

    Final Examinations

  39. Sat May 06 2017

    Final Examinations

  40. Sun May 07 2017

    Final Examinations

  41. Mon May 08 2017

    Final Examinations

  42. Tue May 09 2017

    Final Examinations

  43. Wed May 10 2017

    Final Examinations

  44. Fri May 12 2017

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Graduating Seniors Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  45. Sat May 13 2017

    Baccalaureate

  46. Sun May 14 2017

    Commencement

Summer Term

  1. Fri May 19 2017

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Easter Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  2. Mon Jun 05 2017

    First Day of Classes in the College Summer School

    First Day of Classes in the School of Letters

  3. Wed Jun 07 2017

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments in the College Summer School

  4. Fri Jun 09 2017

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record in the College Summer School

  5. Mon Jun 12 2017

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins in the Summer School

  6. Fri Jun 23 2017

    Midpoint of Term in the College Summer School

  7. Mon Jun 26 2017

    Midterm Grades Available to Students in the College Summer School

  8. Wed Jun 28 2017

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course in the College Summer School with a Grade of W

  9. Thu Jun 29 2017

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins in the College Summer School

  10. Wed Jul 12 2017

    Last Day of Classes in the College Summer School

  11. Thu Jul 13 2017

    Last Day of Classes in the School of Letters

    Reading Day in the College Summer School

  12. Fri Jul 14 2017

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School

  13. Sat Jul 15 2017

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School