College of Arts & Sciences

Academic Calendar 2020–2021

Advent Semester

  1. Sun Aug 02 2020

    First-Year Program (Finding Your Place) Students Arrive

  2. Thu Aug 13 2020

    Orientation for New Students

  3. Fri Aug 14 2020

    Orientation for New Students

    Registration and Schedule Adjustment for New Students Begins

  4. Sat Aug 15 2020

    Orientation for New Students

  5. Sun Aug 16 2020

    Orientation for New Students

  6. Mon Aug 17 2020

    First Day of Classes

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  7. Mon Aug 24 2020

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  8. Wed Aug 26 2020

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  9. Sun Aug 30 2020

    Last Day to Add a Course

  10. Tue Sep 01 2020

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Easter Semester

    Last Day to Declare Pass/Fail Grading Option for Easter 2020 Courses

  11. Fri Sep 04 2020

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Easter Semester

  12. Fri Sep 11 2020

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  13. Sat Sep 12 2020

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

  14. Sat Oct 03 2020

    Midpoint of Semester

  15. Mon Oct 05 2020

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  16. Fri Oct 09 2020

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  17. Sat Oct 10 2020

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  18. Fri Oct 23 2020

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

    Last Day to Declare Pass/Fail Grading Option for Graduating Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Easter Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Seniors Who Will Not Be Enrolled in the Coming Semester

  19. Sat Oct 24 2020

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  20. Mon Nov 02 2020

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Easter Semester

  21. Sun Nov 15 2020

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  22. Mon Nov 16 2020

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  23. Tue Nov 17 2020

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  24. Wed Nov 18 2020

    Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  25. Fri Nov 20 2020

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  26. Sat Nov 21 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

  27. Sun Nov 22 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

  28. Mon Nov 23 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

  29. Tue Nov 24 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

  30. Wed Nov 25 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

  31. Thu Nov 26 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

  32. Fri Nov 27 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

  33. Sat Nov 28 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

  34. Sun Nov 29 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

  35. Mon Nov 30 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

    Waitlist Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

    WAITLIST REGISTRATION ONLY

    7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
    8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
    8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
    8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
    9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
    9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  36. Tue Dec 01 2020

    Reading Day

    Waitlist Registration for the Upcoming Easter Semester

    WAITLIST REGISTRATION ONLY

    7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
    8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
    8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
    8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
    9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
    9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  37. Wed Dec 02 2020

    Final Examinations (Remote)

  38. Thu Dec 03 2020

    Final Examinations (Remote)

  39. Fri Dec 04 2020

    Final Examinations (Remote)

  40. Sat Dec 05 2020

    Final Examinations (Remote)

  41. Sun Dec 06 2020

    Final Examinations (Remote)

  42. Mon Dec 07 2020

    Final Examinations (Remote)

  43. Tue Dec 08 2020

    Final Examinations (Remote)

  44. Tue Dec 15 2020

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Advent Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

  45. Fri Dec 18 2020

    Final Grades for the Advent Semester Available to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Easter Semester

  1. Mon Feb 01 2021

    First Day of Classes

    First Day for Approved Students to Register for Credit Overloads

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Begins

  2. Mon Feb 08 2021

    Faculty Consent Required to Register for a Class

    After the fifth class day of the semester, the professor must record an override before a student may add the course. After the override is recorded and as is always the case, the student must register for the course prior to the close of registration for the semester.

  3. Wed Feb 10 2021

    Last Day to Remove an Incomplete in Independent Study and Research Courses from the Previous Advent Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 1 Ends

  4. Sun Feb 14 2021

    Last Day to Add a Course

  5. Mon Feb 15 2021

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Begins

  6. Fri Feb 26 2021

    Last Day to Declare a Major for Students Taking Comprehensive Examinations in the Upcoming Advent Semester

  7. Sun Feb 28 2021

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record

    After today, students receive a grade of W when withdrawing from a course

  8. Mon Mar 01 2021

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins

    Calendar Adjustment Day

    Follow a Wednesday class schedule

  9. Wed Mar 03 2021

    Reading Day - No Classes

  10. Mon Mar 15 2021

    Major Declaration Period for Fourth-Semester Students Ends

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Begins

  11. Mon Mar 22 2021

    Midpoint of Semester

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Begins

  12. Sat Mar 27 2021

    Comprehensive Examination Period 2 Ends

  13. Mon Mar 29 2021

    Advisor Declaration Period for First-Year Students Wishing to Change Advisors Ends

    Midterm Grades Available to Students

  14. Tue Mar 30 2021

    Calendar Adjustment Day

    Follow a Wednesday class schedule

  15. Wed Mar 31 2021

    Reading Day - No Classes

  16. Thu Apr 01 2021

    Last Day to Submit Applications for Reinstatement for the Upcoming Advent Semester

  17. Sun Apr 04 2021

    Easter

  18. Mon Apr 12 2021

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of W

    Last Day to Declare Pass/Fail Grading Option for Enrolled Seniors Graduating This Semester

    Last Day to Declare a Minor or Certificate of Curricular Study for Enrolled Seniors Graduating this Semester

  19. Tue Apr 13 2021

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins

  20. Sun Apr 25 2021

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  21. Mon Apr 26 2021

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  22. Wed Apr 28 2021

    Reading Day - No Classes

  23. Sun May 02 2021

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  24. Mon May 03 2021

    Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

     7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
     8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
     8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
     9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
     9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Begins

  25. Wed May 05 2021

    Waitlist Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

    WAITLIST REGISTRATION ONLY

    7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
    8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
    8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
    8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
    9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
    9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  26. Thu May 06 2021

    Waitlist Registration for the Upcoming Advent Semester

    WAITLIST REGISTRATION ONLY

    7:45 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 96 semester hours
    8:00 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 96 semester hours
    8:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 64 semester hours
    8:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 64 semester hours
    9:15 P.M. - Members of the Order of the Gown who have earned at least 32 semester hours
    9:45 P.M. - Students who are not members of the Order of the Gown and have earned at least 32 semester hours
    10:30 P.M. - Students who have earned fewer than 32 semester hours

  27. Wed May 12 2021

    Last Day of Classes

    Last Day to Submit Written Work for Any Course

    Comprehensive Examination Period 3 Ends

  28. Thu May 13 2021

    Reading Day

  29. Fri May 14 2021

    Final Examinations

  30. Sat May 15 2021

    Final Examinations

  31. Sun May 16 2021

    Final Examinations

  32. Mon May 17 2021

    Final Examinations

  33. Tue May 18 2021

    Final Examinations

  34. Wed May 19 2021

    Final Examinations

  35. Thu May 20 2021

    Final Examinations

  36. Sat May 22 2021

    Commencement

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Graduating Seniors Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

  37. Thu May 27 2021

    Last Day to Resolve Incomplete Grades for the Easter Semester Just Ended

    Extensions Require the Approval of the Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

  38. Mon May 31 2021

    Final Grades for the Easter Semester Available at 4:30 P.M. to Students Who Have Completed Course Evaluations

Summer Term

  1. Mon Jun 07 2021

    First Day of Classes in the College Summer School

    First Day of Classes in the School of Letters

  2. Wed Jun 09 2021

    Last Day to Make Schedule Adjustments in the College Summer School

  3. Fri Jun 11 2021

    Last Day to Drop a Course without Record in the College Summer School

  4. Mon Jun 14 2021

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of W Begins in the Summer School

  5. Fri Jun 25 2021

    Midpoint of Term in the College Summer School

  6. Mon Jun 28 2021

    Midterm Grades Available to Students in the College Summer School

  7. Wed Jun 30 2021

    Last Day to Withdraw from a Course in the College Summer School with a Grade of W

  8. Thu Jul 01 2021

    Withdrawal Period with Grade of WF Begins in the College Summer School

  9. Wed Jul 14 2021

    Last Day of Classes in the College Summer School

  10. Thu Jul 15 2021

    Last Day of Classes in the School of Letters

    Reading Day in the College Summer School

  11. Fri Jul 16 2021

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School

  12. Sat Jul 17 2021

    Final Examinations in the College Summer School